Monday, April 24, 2017

Blog Tour ~ MARRYING THE WRONG EARL ~ by Callie Hutton


She didn't want to marry anyone, let alone the wrong one.  


MARRYING THE WRONG EARL
Lords and Ladies in Love #2
Callie Hutton
Releasing April 17th, 2017
Entangled Scandalous


Lady Arabella Danvers is happy with her life just the way it is. She is free to be herself and take care of broken and abandoned animals. Her mother is desperate for her to marry, and has decided to take things into her own hands. There is just one little problem with her plan.

Nash, the Earl of Clarendon has determined it is time to take a wife. He has selected a woman to whom he intends to propose. However, the annoying Lady Arabella has stumbled into his life at the wrong time, and in the wrong place.

But he of all people should know if Lady Arabella is involved, plans will go awry.





4*

First off, I love this cover! MARRYING THE WRONG EARL is the story of Lady Arabella Danvers and Nash, Earl of Clarendon.  It's book #2 in the Lords and Ladies in Love series. I read it as a standalone even though I have the first book, I've not gotten to read it yet. That oversight will be rectified very soon. I had no problems following the story. 
MARRYING THE WRONG EARL is my first Callie Hutton novel I really enjoyed it. It kept me engaged because I didn't know what's going to go wrong next. Even though I'm a pet lover myself, I felt that Arabella put her pets before her marriage too many times. BUT I also thought Nash could've given in a little more. Ultimately, it's an enjoyable tale of compromise.  

I received a copy of this book to review for Celtic Dragon Book Reviews. Opinions are my own. 




Callie Hutton, the USA Today bestselling author of The Elusive Wife writes both Regency and western historical romance, with “historic elements and sensory details” (The Romance Reviews). Callie lives in Oklahoma with several rescue dogs and her top cheerleader husband of many years. Her family also includes her daughter, son, and daughter-in-law, and twin grandsons “The Twinadoes.”  

Callie loves to hear from readers. Contact her directly at calliehutton11@gmail.com or find her online at her WebsiteSign up for her newsletter to receive information on new releases, appearances, contests and exclusive subscriber content. 

Friday, April 21, 2017

Dark alphas lover Donna Grant

Donna grant dark alphas lover

The 4th installment in the reaper series
Fintan is one of  deaths reapers, with his long white hair and white red rimmed eyes, sets him apart from all fae no matter that he is a reaper to do the bidding of death. Cat is a  fiery green eyed ginger half fae with an act of saying what she feels, and let me tell you I love both of them. In this book Donna does a switch on us that had me screaming I love it....i love it. Oh the feels....  Boths back stories are full of loss, sadness, loneliness and regret but that doesn't stop our hero's from doing there part and finding each other. The added characters from the Dragon King books had me pause took me a second to come to terms with it and I was like oh the feels
This is a absolute must read for any of her fans and new comers I'll just say you will get addicted...

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

New Release ~ THE FORBIDDEN HIGHLANDS ~


The Highlanders Iron Will:

 The Forbidden Highlands Box Set 

by Amy Jarecki


Date of Publication: April 18, 2017

Blurb


From authors Kathryn Le Veque, Eliza Knight, Terri Brisbin, Amy Jarecki, Collette Cameron, Victoria Vane, Emma Prince and Violetta Rand
Welcome to the realm of THE FORBIDDEN HIGHLANDS....

Eight USA TODAY and BESTSELLING historical romance authors bring you great tales of forbidden love from the highlands of Scotland based upon the greatest Celtic legend of forbidden love - a Celtic princess being escorted to her wedding to marry a king ultimately fell in love with her knightly escort. So began a powerful tale of great longing, of love spells, of persecution, and ultimately of a fiery passion borne from an otherworldly source. A love so strong is never meant to die... and reborn in these eight fabulous novellas.

Enjoy these brand-new novellas that will keep you reading long into the night, dreaming of lost loves, of great loves, and of forbidden loves.

Available From


About Amy Jarecki



A descendant of an ancient Lowland clan, Amazon Bestselling Author Amy Jarecki adores Scotland. Though she now resides in southwest Utah, she received her MBA from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh. Winner of the prestigious RONE Award, she found her niche in the genre of Scottish historical romance. Amy loves hearing from her readers and can be contacted through her website at www.amyjarecki.com (where you can also sign up for her monthly newsletter).

Find Amy Jarecki Online

Hosted by:

New Release/Review/Q & A ~DARK ALPHA'S LOVER ~ Donna Grant


    

   ~ Blurb ~




There is no escaping a Reaper. I am an elite assassin, part of a brotherhood that only answers to Death. And when Death says your time is up, I am coming for you...

I answer to no one but Death. I am impenetrable, impervious, immortal. I exist to do Death's bidding and no one--not Reaper nor human nor Fae--can stand in my way. Except for the bewitching half-Fae, Catriona. She swears the magic in her family passed her by, but I know better. This woman is strong. This woman is powerful. And when her abilities surge forth, no one will be able to stop the Dark Fae from coming for her. Except for me. I want to keep her close. I want to keep her safe. I want lose myself to her, again and again...



~Excerpt~

Chapter 1



Galway, Ireland

January

Nothing was ever as it seemed.
There were more than humans walking this earth. The things seen out of the corner of your eye were real, even if your mind refused to recognize—or accept—them.
But Catriona Hayes knew of their existence, even if she wished she didn’t. They were Fae. Magical creatures that were so beautiful they seemed otherworldly—because they were.
The Fae had come to this world, seamlessly integrating themselves into the lives of mortals. But then again, when it came to beings with magic, they could do such things.
Cat blew out a breath and put the day’s earnings in the pouch before placing it inside the safe and shutting the door. She straightened and looked through the windows of the café and across the street to the pub alight with merriment.
There was a bit of wistfulness within her when she spotted three women walking into the bar with bright smiles. She’d never been that carefree.
From the first moment she could remember, her family had kept her apart from others. It wasn’t until she was older that she realized what made her so different—she was a Halfling.
Part human, part Fae.
Some might rejoice at the news, but she wasn’t most people.
The first time her grandfather had told her of her heritage, she’d laughed, thinking it was a jest. But as they’d walked down the streets of Galway, he began pointing out the Fae.
That was the day her life changed. At eight years old, she’d felt the weight of the world drop upon her shoulders. The burden had nearly brought her to her knees. And it had lingered, growing heavier with each passing year.
Yet she remained standing beneath it all. Only because of her grandfather. The man who smiled in the midst of the many storms life threw his way. He was what kept her composed and mindful of the dangers of living near Fae.
While she had been fearful of her grandfather’s revelation, her older siblings had embraced it as a gift.
Cat looked down at the counter and the top that covered it. Beneath the thick glass, next to the register, was a picture of her with her brother and sister twenty years ago.
Whatever gift having Fae blood had given her siblings had been taken away in a cruel twist of Fate several months ago when they were savagely killed.
Her brother had been murdered in a crowded pub, while her sister had had her life snuffed out on a train to London. No one had seen either attack. One moment, her siblings had been alive. The next, they were dead. It was how Cat knew the Fae were responsible.
Only beings with magic and the ability to veil themselves could have committed such crimes without a single person catching something on their mobile phones.
Ever since her family’s deaths, she’d been waiting for the Fae to come for her.
What was taking them so long? She and her grandfather—who she kept locked safely away in his cottage where no Fae could enter—were the only ones left.
A flash of lightning pulled her from her thoughts and reminded her that she needed to get home. She started toward the front, turning off the lights as she went. Flipping the sign in the café window to CLOSED, she walked out the door and locked it. When she faced the street once more, she gripped the handle of her purse and looked around at the people. She knew the Fae could use glamour to disguise themselves, though most preferred to remain beautiful. That made it easier to pick them out, but it did nothing to lessen Cat’s dread.
She remained in the doorway as a couple walked past her. The man said something to make the woman laugh. Cat’s heart caught because she couldn’t remember the last time she’d giggled like that—never mind actually being on a date. Cat squared her shoulders and turned to the left. Her cottage was toward the outskirts of Galway. She couldn’t wait to get home where she could relax.
“Relax,” she snorted.
There was no such thing for her. While others brushed their cares away with a pint of ale and loud music, she would eat alone at her house and sleep with one eye open.
Being half-Fae had done nothing but make her life miserable. She’d gotten nothing else from it. Her sister, Nora, had been able to move objects with her mind. Her brother, Domhnall, could grow plants.
For some strange reason, magic had passed her over altogether. No matter how hard she tried, there didn’t seem to be a smidgen of magic within her.
Countless times, she’d asked her grandfather what she’d done to not have magic. He’d never quite answered her. In his usual way, he would tell a story about all the Halflings who lived without magic.
But she always suspected that he was keeping something from her.
No amount of conniving or posing the question different ways ever gave her another answer, though. With every year that passed, she was more and more sure that her grandfather was hiding something.
Cat tensed when she walked past a Fae talking to a mortal female. His silver eyes, black hair, and sex appeal were the biggest clues to what he was—Light Fae. At least, it wasn’t a Dark.
The Dark scared her the most with their red eyes. She shuddered just thinking about them.
She turned the corner and quickened her pace. Thunder rumbled the same time lightning zigzagged across the sky. More rain was on the way, but if she were lucky, she’d make it back to her cottage before it came.
Suddenly, she stopped. She didn’t know what had caught her attention, but something told her to go no farther. Her gaze roamed down the street as people milled about.
There was something in the air that draped over everything like a wet blanket. It took her a moment to realize what it was—fear. She looked at the humans and saw that none of them appeared to be affected.
Then she heard the footsteps coming, quickly. She saw the man running toward her and looking back over his shoulder. He passed beneath a streetlamp, and she saw his eyes—red.
But it was the terror on his face that surprised her. She hadn’t thought there was anything a Dark feared, but whatever was after this particular Fae must be frightening.
Her head told her to run, but her body refused to move. She remained where she was, even as a man appeared out of thin air in front of the Dark.
The Fae slid to a halt, his eyes wide. The man before him had long, white hair that was pulled away from his face by three small braids on each side of his head.
She had little time to process that before she saw the light glint off a blade. The sword sliced through the air and cut down the Dark, turning him to dust in an instant.
Shock reverberated through her as she involuntarily took a step back. What kind of weapon did he have that could kill a Fae? Because she wanted one.
He took two steps away before he suddenly halted, his body stiffening. Then he gradually turned his head to look right at her. She couldn’t make out his face because of the shadows, but she knew he’d seen her.
And then, he disappeared.
She took another step back and hastily looked around, but there was no other sign of the white-haired man. Yet she knew she wasn’t alone.
He was there. She was sure of it. Just as she was sure the Fae would come for her soon.
Somehow, she managed to stand her ground. If she were going to die, she would do it with courage. Even if she was shaking. She wasn’t going to run, no matter how much she wanted to.
She felt something behind her a moment before the sound of footsteps reached her. Cat whirled around, ready to face the unknown stranger. But it was a Dark Fae who walked toward her.
“Shite,” she murmured and turned back around.
“Hiya, darlin’,” the Dark called. “What’s your hurry?”
She walked faster and said over her shoulder, “Long day.”
“Let me buy you a drink.”
“No, thanks.”
She waited for him to say more, and when he didn’t, she gave a sigh of relief. It wasn’t until she was in her cottage that she slumped against the door.
Another day gone.
Copyright © 2017 by Donna Grant and reprinted by permission of Swerve.




~ Review ~

5*
The first words that came to my mind after reading this book was IT CAN’T BE OVER!! (The Book, not the series) 
Donna Grant has such a gift of storytelling that I can read her books over and over again. I’m adding this one to my list. 
Catriona Hayes is half Fae. She has lost every person in her family with the exception of her grandfather who she keeps hidden away in a seaside cottage. Away from Fae eyes. She has no idea why they have spared her and constantly looks over her shoulder, sure her time is near. Then Fintan comes into the picture. 
Fintan is a Reaper with a horrible history. Look up tortured hero and his picture should be there. Due to this past he has completely shut down his emotions, even to his fellow Reapers. 
I read this book in one sitting. The intensity level is off the charts. This series has now reached the level of the Dragon Kings (Dark Kings) which I wait for each new release with great anticipation. It comes complete with addicting characters you want to revisit book after book to suspense that will keep you glued to the page. And of course the HEA. And oh the revelations that pertain to the Dragon King world! I'm not one for spoilers so I'll leave it at that. 

I received a copy from the publisher for my honest review. 


~ BUY LINKS ~

~ Author Q & A ~ 

~ Donna Grant~


CDBR: Where do you get your inspiration?
 DG: Everywhere. TV shows, music, movies, books, and real life. 
CDBR: How long on average does it take you to write a book? 
 DG: A full length book takes me 5-6 weeks total before I turn it into my editor. A novella takes 3 weeks.
CDBR: What is your writing Kryptonite?
 DG:  I don't really have any. ::knocks on wood::  
CDBR: What books have most influenced your life?
 DG:  I believe that every book I have ever read has influenced me in one form or another. They've shaped my thoughts and my actions. I'm one that believes a book comes into a person's life when they need it the most.
CDBR: What is the first book that made you cry?
 DG:  I can't remember the title, but it was a western where the heroine was kidnapped by Indian's and she fell in love. It wasn't a romance because there was no HEA, but I bawled. 
CDBR: What was your hardest scene to write?
  DG: It's different with every book. Mostly its the sex scenes because there is so much more emotion that goes into those scenes than in others, and I like to get it right.
CDBR: What did you edit out of this book?
  DG: lol. I write "that" a lot. I edit most of those out. And the use of names. I don't realize when I'm writing that I do it, but when I read over it, I do. 

I would like to thank Ms. Grant for being so gracious and answering my questions!



  ~About the Author ~




Author Bio: New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Donna Grant has been praised for her “totally addictive” and “unique and sensual” stories. She’s the author of more than thirty novels spanning multiple genres of romance including the bestselling Dark King stories. The acclaimed series features a thrilling combination of dragons, the Fae, and Highlanders who are dark, dangerous, and irresistible. She lives with her two children, a dog, and four cats in Texas.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Cover Reveal ~ DESPERATE BRIDE ~ A.S. Fenichel


DESPERATE BRIDE
by A.S. Fenichel
Genre: Historical Romance

Pub Date: 9/26/2017


.


An unexpected promise . . . an everlasting passion.
An accomplished musician, Dorothea Flammel has refused more proposals than any London debutante; her only true love is her music. Dory’s shimmering talent and beauty have long been adored from afar by Thomas Wheel, an untitled gentleman who can only dream of asking for the hand of a nobleman’s daughter. But when her father, the insolvent Lord Flammel, arranges for Dory to marry a lecherous Earl in order to pay off a debt, she runs to Thomas—and proposes marriage to him.
Eloping to Scotland saves Dory from a disastrous fate, but what is for her a mere marriage of convenience proves more passionate—and more complex—than either imagined as rumors, scandal, and buried emotions come to light. And when a vengeful challenge from a drunken and embittered Lord Flammel puts Thomas’s life on the line, will the fragile trust between husband and wife be enough to save them both?

Buy Links:







A.S. Fenichel adores writing stories filled with love, passion, desire, magic and maybe a little mayhem tossed in for good measure. Books have always been her perfect escape and she still relishes diving into one and staying up all night to finish a good story. Originally from New York, she grew up in New Jersey. She now lives in the southwest with her real life hero, her wonderful husband. When she is not reading or writing she enjoys cooking, travel, history and puttering in her garden.









Giveaway/Guest Post/My Review ~WITHIN A CAPTAIN'S POWER ~ Lisa A. Olech


WITHIN A CAPTAIN'S POWER 
by Lisa Olech
PUB DATE: 4/4/2017
Genre: Historical Romance

Never underestimate the power of a pirate . . .

Captain James Steele is duty bound to capture the privateer Scarlet Night and bring her rebellious crew to England to hang. Then he will leave his majesty’s service, make an upstanding marriage, and join the landed gentry. But the winds of fate are blowing the straitlaced commander utterly off course.

Once aboard, James comes face to face with a pirate boy who is in reality fierce, desperate—and gorgeous—Samantha Christian, on the run from a sadistic Virginia plantation owner. With her identity unbound, the good captain dutifully takes her under his personal command, whereupon decorum goes out the porthole. But while his heart is lost to Samantha by the time they reach England, her noose still awaits. Now James’s sense of duty will be severely tested. As for Samantha, she has a plan, and a duty, of her own . . .


~My Review~

WITHIN A CAPTAIN'S POWER is my first Lisa Olech novel so I read it as a standalone and had no problems at all.  
I really enjoyed this book. I went through a whole range of emotions. I laughed, wanted to cry, and at one point I wanted to throw it.  But that just means I'm really into it.  
I loved the characters, especially Ducky and Bump. The main characters, Capt. James Steele and Samantha Christian are a classic love-at-first-sight story. They can't stop thinking about each other. Frankly if I had been Samantha, I'd probably never got as far as she did with the circumstances she was thrown into. James is completely swoon-worthy. He's loyal, trustworthy, devoted and of course, handsome. 
The story has twists, turns and quite a few surprises. It will appeal to your adventurous side as you go from Virginia to the Scarlett Night to the Lion and then onto London.



Author Guest Post:

Let’s Talk about Pirates!


Let’s start by dressing the part. Most pirates’ clothing was stolen from their prey. Captains picked the nicest and most fashionable garments so everyone would know, “Hey, look at me, I’m the Captain!” There are reports that captains fearing capture would rush below deck and change into something less fancy so they could blend into their crew and receive an easier punishment.

How about an earring? There are a host of reasons and theories regarding pirates wearing earrings. Some believe an earring marked the first time the sailor crossed the equator, or sailed the vicious waters around Cape Horn. Others claim that sailors believed precious metals pierced through their earlobes actually improved their eyesight. There is another theory that the gold and silver was to pay for their funerals. With their names and home ports engraved within the hoop, if they washed up on shore, their bodies could be sent home. And yet another reason for an earring is to hang waxed earplugs from in case you were a gunner and too close to those exploding cannons! Me…I just think they made those seafaring bad boys a bit more rakish.

There is some debate regarding eye patches. Yes, there’s evidence of pirates losing arms, legs, and eyes. But some believe that eye patches were worn so pirates could keep one eye adjusted to seeing in the dark found below deck. Black Beard had a wooden leg, but it wasn’t due to a 10lb. cannon ball removing his limb. It was due to diabetes. If a pirate lost a leg in battle, most times they never survived the injury, and it certainly ended their career. It is true that Captain James Hook did have an iron hook that replaced his missing hand, however. Here I thought that was only Peter Pan fiction!

Speaking of fiction… there is little evidence of anyone ‘walking the plank.’ If pirates want you tossed into the water, over the rail ye went! Of course, there were more gruesome forms of punishment. Flogging, marooning, keelhauling, and hanging…by various parts of your body…from the highest yardarm!

Also, there’s no record of a pirate having a parrot as a pet. Cats were common aboard ship to keep the mice and rat population at bay, (FYI…white cats were considered bad luck.) but parrots were seen more for the money they would bring than for a colorful shoulder accessory.

Not all pirates were cutthroats. In fact, they were fairly civilized. Rules were strictly followed regarding fighting amongst the crew, gambling onboard, compensation should you be wounded or killed. Everyone received a fair share according to rank and decisions were made by democratic vote. Stealing from a crewmember was a major no no. There were ‘gentlemen’ pirates who were well known for treating their crews and captives well. Stede Bonnet was one of these gentlemen pirates. He was a wealthy plantation owner when he decided to buy his own ship and take to the sea. It’s rumored that a nagging wife was his motivation to become a pirate, or a mid-life crisis! Black Bart Roberts gave his musicians Sundays off.

Being a pirate was a decent way to make a living. In fact, a lot of sailors signed on to pirate crews because the Navy’s pay checks just didn’t go very far in the 1600’s. Long Ben Avery wasn’t a pirate for very long, but made the richest haul and retired less than a year after he started. And speaking of richest treasures, it is said, Oliver Levasseur had treasure estimated into the billions. When he was captured and brought to be hung, he pulled a necklace from his neck and threw it into the crowd. It contained a cryptogram of 17 lines. He shouted “Find my treasure, the one who may understand it!” Treasure hunters are still trying to ‘understand’ it.

Some pirates were brutal, vicious barbarians, however. Black Beard used to stick lit lengths of rope under the brim of his hat so smoke would circle his head and his prey would believe he was possessed. Francis l’Olonnais cut out a prisoners heart and ate it in order to get the other prisoners to cooperate. His crew deserted soon after. There’s pirate crazy…then there’s pirate ‘l’Olonnais’ crazy!

And of course, I can’t possibly forget to mention all those incredible, bad-ass, ‘tough-as-hardtack’ women who fought as pirates throughout the golden age and beyond. Anne Bonney, Mary Read, Grace O’Malley, Rachel Wall (the only female pirate from New England—and the last pirate hung in Boston Common.), and my personal favorite, Ching Shih. Ching Shih was the most powerful of all pirate queens. After being pulled from a life of prostitution to marry, and her husband’s subsequent death a short three years later, Ching Shih became one of the most feared female pirates of her time. She terrorized the Chinese coast and amassed a huge fleet of more than a fifteen hundred ships and captained more than 70,000 men. She was very fond of beheadings, and deserters who just wouldn’t listen to reason…they saved their heads, but lost their ears!
I wonder what happened to all those earrings?


Lisa A. Olech is an artist/writer living in her dream house nestled among the lakes in New England. She loves getting lost in a steamy book, finding the perfect pair of sexy shoes, and hearing the laughter of her men. Being an estrogen island in a sea of testosterone makes her queen. She believes in ghosts, silver linings, the power of a man in a tuxedo, and happy endings.








Friday, April 14, 2017

Cover Reveal ~ SILENCED ~ Aimee Shaye









"It’s hard to move on in life when the shadow of my past is at my heels at all times. Just when I think that I got over the past, and that I’m ready to move on, it sneaks up on me like a jungle cat who’s been starving for days on end and needs food."

Lauren Reynolds has been married for two years, and has been with her husband, Cooper Reynolds for four years. Everything in their life is perfect: Cooper is a loving, understanding husband who thinks the world of Lauren and Lauren reciprocates those feelings. There's just one problem: for four years, before Lauren and Cooper started dating, she was in an emotionally abusive relationship that still haunts her and eats at her every day.

"Silenced" is the story of Lauren's journey to finding absolute happiness in a life that has been ripped to shreds several times. With the help of Cooper, Lauren will overcome and conquer her past, leaving it all where it belongs.

Pre-order Link



                                                   

Follow Aimee on: